The Berkshire Organists' Association
Patron: Dame Gillian Weir
Registered Charity No.298088

Home
About the BOA
Join Us
Fr Willis Organ Book
Local Organ Events
Organist Vacancies
Deputies and Teachers
The Berkshire Organist

Last update: 1 October 2017

Local Events

 

This listing includes organ-related events within easy reach of Reading. For a comprehensive nationwide listing, visit www.organrecitals.com

Please contact to have your event included in this listing or to subscribe to our events mailing list.

2017

 

Thursday 9 November

1.10pm. St Nicolas, Newbury. Organ recital by Jonathan Holl (Windsor). Programme to include music by Bach, Peeters, Dupré and Widor. Admission free. Retiring Collection.

 

Friday 17 November

12.30 - 1.15pm. Minster Church of St Mary the Virgin, Reading. Lunchtime Organ Recital by John Halsey. Admission free. Retiring collection.

 

Saturday 18 November     ** BOA Event **

7.00 for 7.30pm. Annual Dinner at Stirrups, with guest speaker Dr Alan Thurlow, Chairman of BIOS and former Organist at Chichester Cathedral. Booking details will be sent with the October newsletter. Please return forms to the Programme Secretary no later than Friday 3 November if you wish to attend.

 

Monday 20 November

1pm. Reading Town Hall (Concert Hall). Lunchtime organ recital on the Father Willis Organ by William McVicker (Royal Festival Hall & Reading Town Hall). A programme of riotous Victorian gems. £5. Reading Arts  0118 960 6060.

 

Wednesday 22 November

1.15pm - 2pm. St Giles' Church, Southampton Street, Reading. Lunchtime Recital by The Cameo Consort (Music for violin, 'cello, piano and organ). Admission free. Retiring collection. Light refreshments.

 

Thursday 14 December

1.10pm. St Nicolas, Newbury. Organ recital by James Paget (St Mary Magdalene-in-Paddington).  Admission free. Retiring Collection.

 

2018

Thursday 11 January

1.10pm. St Nicolas, Newbury. Organ recital by John Halsey.  Admission free. Retiring Collection.

 

Saturday 13 January     ** BOA Event **

2.30pm. St Andrew's URC, London Road, Reading. Social afternoon with speaker Rosemary Field from the RSCM. More details to follow.

 

Friday 19 January

12.30 - 1.15pm. Minster Church of St Mary the Virgin, Reading. Lunchtime Organ Recital by Gillian Blythman (Newbury). Admission free. Retiring collection.

 

Thursday 8 February

1.10pm. St Nicolas, Newbury. Organ recital by Gillian Blythmann.  Admission free. Retiring Collection.

 

Saturday 10 February     ** BOA Event **

Organ visit to the Henley area. More details to follow.

 

Friday 16 February

12.30 - 1.15pm. Minster Church of St Mary the Virgin, Reading. Lunchtime Organ Recital by Ian Hillier (Director of Music, Reading Minster). Admission free. Retiring collection.

 

Monday 19 February

1pm. Reading Town Hall (Concert Hall). Lunchtime organ recital on the Father Willis Organ by David Pether (Reading). £5. Reading Arts  0118 960 6060.

 

Thursday 8 March

1.10pm. St Nicolas, Newbury. Organ recital by Christine Wells.  Admission free. Retiring Collection.

 

Saturday 10 March     ** BOA Event **

Possible visit to Buckinghamshire. More details to follow.

 

Friday 16 March

12.30 - 1.15pm. Minster Church of St Mary the Virgin, Reading. Lunchtime Organ Recital by Jill York (Reading). Admission free. Retiring collection.

 

Thursday 12 April

1.10pm. St Nicolas, Newbury. Organ recital by Chris Totney.  Admission free. Retiring Collection.

 

Friday 20 April

12.30 - 1.15pm. Minster Church of St Mary the Virgin, Reading. Lunchtime Organ Recital by Michael Howell (Director of Music, St Thomas of Canterbury, Goring). Admission free. Retiring collection.

 

Saturday 28 April      ** BOA Event **

7.30pm. St Peter's Church, Church Road, Earley. Organ Recital by John Halsey. Part of the BOA Local Recital series. Admission free. Retiring collection. Refreshments.

 

Friday 18 May

12.30 - 1.15pm. Minster Church of St Mary the Virgin, Reading. Lunchtime Organ Recital by Jonathan Holl (Windsor). Admission free. Retiring collection.

 

Thursday 14 June

1.10pm. St Nicolas, Newbury. Organ recital by Alistair Davis.  Admission free. Retiring Collection.

 

Friday 15 June

12.30 - 1.15pm. Minster Church of St Mary the Virgin, Reading. Lunchtime Organ Recital by Andy Baldwin (St Mary, Shinfield). Admission free. Retiring collection.